jump to navigation

Daddy, I miss you…. June 17, 2011

Posted by Amity in Short Stories, Thursday Tales.
Tags: ,
trackback

When I saw that painting, tears silently fell from my big brown eyes. There was both a smile and a twitch in the corner of my lips. Memories of my late father came flooding back in my mind.

When I was young, my father never tried to carry me in his warm lap. He was quite distant from all his kids. He was a strict disciplinarian believing in the dictum that children should be seen but not heard. He never brooked boisterous kids in the house. Just a look in his eyes and we knew we should stay mum in a corner. We lacked any demonstration of affection from him possibly from the notion that pampering kids would spoil them. But mom made it up for it with her sweet nature and love.

That was then when we were young children ourselves.

When I had kids, my father had changed immensely. He doted on all my three kids. Mother told me that the way he treated my kids so lovingly and warmly, was the exact opposite of how he had treated his own kids when they were young.

My kids were loud and active never known to sit quiet for a second.  My son would demand to ride horseback on him and my dad would willingly be on his knees. He would enjoy playing hide and seek with my kids and derive immense pleasure in buying chocolates, apples, ice cream for my kids whenever he came home.

Fourteen years ago today, my father was so excited to have a vacation in the province where I was residing. He took along with him in his car my two older kids who were staying with my parents  for almost a year. We could not find a trusted nanny and they volunteered to take my kinds under their custody.

An expert driver, he was driving the car very fast. Sooooooooo… fast that even my son Kelvin who relished speed urged him, “Grandpa, please slow down. It is scary.” He laughed and ignored the child’s plea. He was obviously in a hurry to see me. A few minutes later, an ear-piercing thud and a sudden halt was heard. Shards of glass from the windshield went flying in all directions. It was a nasty accident that claimed his dear life on the spot.

As luck would have it, my kids were saved. From the eye witnesses it transpired that when he lost his control his only aim was to save my kids. That he did and sacrificed his own to let my kids survive.

Again, I snapped a look at the photo on the wall and it made me very sad. I was reminded of the contrast in him as a very strict dad to his kids and yet strangely a very loving grandpa submitting to all the whims and caprices of his grand kids. The tears continued to flood my eyes now as I recall a loving dad who did not know how to show his affection. But he made amends by showering his affection on my kids. Strange it is but true of the inexplicable nature of a good man.

“Oh dear father, wherever you are, may you look upon your grand kids whom you have unselfishly and lovingly devoted your time and love during their growing up years. May you be their guardian angel throughout their lives. We feel sad you are no longer around to witness the imminent success of each one of them. You must be the proudest if you were here, and I believe it so for you were like that when we were young achievers. I love and miss you so much and I mean it so!”

~*~*~*~

Written for Thursday Tales

Comments»

1. Shail Raghuvanshi - June 17, 2011

Dear Amity,

Is this really the story of your dad? Very touching. And believe me, he is out there sending his blessings to you and your children.

God Bless.
Shail

Amity - June 17, 2011

Yes, Shail, this is about my father… a true story…:( I feel so sad writing it also. I was teary eyed when i tried reading it over and over again..
Thanks Shail for the visit!

2. AlexJCavanaugh - June 17, 2011

I’m so sorry your father didn’t know how to reach out to you, but at least he figured it out with his grandchildren.

Amity - June 19, 2011

Yes Alex, that’s true, but thank goodness, the love he didnt express to us when we were kids, he showered my kids instead!

3. raja(critics) - June 19, 2011

ok another good write…seriously ur dad would have read this too and would be spreading that drop of tear amidst his broad smile….

Amity - June 19, 2011

Yes, Raja, he must have read this now, up there in heaven…and maybe he feels sad about this too!
I cant post comment in your blog, I dunno the trouble! 😦


Leave a Reply

