jump to navigation

Endure! June 5, 2011

Posted by Amity in One Single Impression, Poems.
Tags: ,
trackback

One late snoozy Saturday  afternoon

Amity had to get  busy in her little store

Little wonder a bottle of juice of prune

Suddenly came down with a loud thud on the  floor.

Shards of glass big and small flew in every  direction

Making  her gloomy with much  dejection

A few of them got on  her dainty  legs

A big piece made a deep insertion

With  blood gushing like a fountain

And the minor  pieces  sprayed like dart

She panicked and didn’t know her part

But quickly came her confidence to her gain

She sat down calmly despite  the throbbing pain

Applied ointment, the pain she did endure

The deep cuts and bruises she was sure

Would leave scars on her  flawless legs

And  she will soon endure  some  mocking  smile

Confident that the marks would vanish in a while….

~*~*~*~

Written for One Single Impression

Prompt: Endure 

Comments»

1. Ramesh Sood - June 5, 2011

That’s well written Amity… hope all is well and fine…. and the bruises have gone… thanks for your comments…

Amity - June 5, 2011

Thanks Ramesh…bruises are still fresh, just a day old… 🙂

2. Gemma @ Greyscale - June 5, 2011

That could have very dangerous if flying glass reached more than your legs! You were so lucky! Hope it heals well!

Amity - June 5, 2011

Yeah, Gemma, I hope it will heal soon… 😦
Blood still oozing, I am torn between wanting to have it stitched or not 😦
I fear the pain!

3. Harshad - June 5, 2011

Well, mocking smile. :)))

Amity - June 5, 2011

Yay…. 😦

4. Anthony North - June 5, 2011

A nasty experience well told.

Amity - June 5, 2011

Really…. 😦

5. KP - June 5, 2011

Well written
Take care

Amity - June 5, 2011

Thanks KP… 🙂

6. Geraldine - June 6, 2011

I’m glad you weren’t hurt. What an interesting interpretation of this prompt. I love your blog presentation too! Happy Sunday Amity.

http://www.takeahappybreak.com
http://www.myreallifereviews.com

Amity - June 6, 2011

Hello Geraldine…good morning! 🙂
Not much, minor bruises and one deep cut which could hardly heal…:)
Glad you like my interpretation! Will be seeing you today!
Have a great week ahead 🙂

7. April @ Om Channel - June 6, 2011

What a positive attitude about a scary accident. You have a wonderful way with words!

Amity - June 6, 2011

Thanks April…when you are alone when an accident happens, you would opt to stay calm and not get hysterical… 🙂

8. AlexJCavanaugh - June 6, 2011

Glad it was only minor injuries! Was anyone else present to help?

Amity - June 6, 2011

Unfortunately I was all alone Alex… 😦
So i had to call on neighbors for help…
Thanks it was only minor, just one deep cut and the rest bruises….

9. Lisa - June 6, 2011

Love the story.

Lisa

Amity - June 6, 2011

Thanks Lisa…. 🙂

10. Jim - June 6, 2011

Hi Amity ~~ A very cute rendition of an ugly situation. 🙂
I do hope your will be feeling better real quick.
Best watch those legs. I see they only rhyme with themselves. I like your rhyme scheme.
..
BTW, could I join your club or do wish to join mine? I fell earlier this week while on holiday in Iowa. My elbow was doing your bleeding bit and my left leg will hardly hold me now. 🙄
..

Amity - June 6, 2011

Hi Jim, yes, making an ugly situation better by making a poem that rhymes? Kinda therapeutic you know… 🙂 Hope it heals soon. Happy today the biggest cut already closed naturally, no need for stitches…

Join your club…ha ha ha…sure why not… name it ‘ACCIDENT PRONE CLUB’ ! Great suggestion… 🙂
Better take care from now, the club sounds fearful na… 😀

11. Jim - June 6, 2011

Oh yes, do have it stitched. I went for that about a year ago when I got cut by a piece of glass. They used glue instead of thread to hold me together. :coffee2:
..

Amity - June 6, 2011

That’s a modern way of stitching Jim on your side of the globe…but I think we don’t have one like that yet here in our small town… 🙂 Thanks for the suggestion btw… 🙂

12. Teri C - June 6, 2011

Oh gosh, this is so well written I can feel your pain. Sorry for this ‘inspiration’ and hope all is well and healing.

Amity - June 6, 2011

True Teri…really painful, but only after seeing blood…because when the incident happened, I did not know immediately that I was hurt until I saw blood oozing from the cuts and bruises… 😦 It is better now… just some pain whenever i take a step… especially I am on heeled shoes in going to office 😦

13. Psych Babbler - June 6, 2011

Wow! Great way to take a bad accident and make it into something great for all to read! Hope it heals soon… 🙂

Amity - June 6, 2011

Hi Psych,
I guess this is the best I can do….you know! But i had to go to doctor finally to have it stiched…3 stitches…and my doctor said “what a big fool you are, after 3 days then you come?”
He had to make a li’l incision i dunno know why, just so it could get healed? I dunno…I just cried… oucchhhh….
the injection of anesthesia…ouccchhhh was painful and when it wore off….ouccchhhhhhhhh…. 😦
Thanks for the visit! 🙂 smiles amidst the excruciating pain… 😦

14. PremI - June 8, 2011

Bruises inspired for a lovely write up and a lesson to endure!
Great,Amity. Take care.

Amity - June 8, 2011

Thanks PremI….yes, it was an accident I was able to write about! 🙂

15. Amanda - June 8, 2011

making something good out of the bad? that is true endurance! wonderful write, I hope you see a speedy recovery!

Amity - June 8, 2011

Thanks Amanda… 🙂

I also like your enduring friendship! As Jim said, who wouldn’t want to be a friend of the author of your poem? Nice isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

